NIT Full Form

The nit full form is National Technology Institutes. The National Institutes of Technology (NITs) are India’s most prestigious autonomous public technical institutes, overseen by the Ministry of Education. The National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research Act, 2007, established them as institutions of national importance and outlined their powers, responsibilities, and governance framework. There are thirty-one NITs listed in the statute.

N = National

I = Institutes of

T = Technology

Each NIT is self-contained, but is linked to the others through the Council of NITSER, which governs their administration, and all NITs are supported by the Indian government.

These institutes are among India’s top-ranked engineering colleges and have one of the lowest acceptance rates for engineering schools, with acceptance rates ranging from 1 to 2%. Twenty-four NITs were ranked in the top 200 in the engineering category by the National Institutional Ranking Framework in 2020.

All of these institutes use English as the medium of instruction. In all, the 31 NITs will have a total of 23,506 undergraduate seats and 13,664 postgraduate seats by 2020.

On the same day that members of the ruling Telugu Desam Party from the state held a demonstration demanding special category status, the Indian Parliament passed a bill to construct the 31st and newest NIT, NIT Andhra Pradesh. The Rajya Sabha passed the National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research (Amendment) Bill, 2016 by voice vote. On July 21, 2016, the bill was passed by the Lok Sabha.

1NIT Allahabad2002PrayagrajUttar Pradesh
2NIT Bhopal2002BhopalMadhya Pradesh
3NIT Nagpur2002NagpurMaharashtra
4NIT Durgapur2002DurgapurWest Bengal
5NIT Hamirpur2002HamirpurHimachal Pradesh
6NIT Jaipur2002JaipurRajasthan
7NIT Jalandhar2002JalandharPunjab
8NIT Jamshedpur2002JamshedpurJharkhand
9NIT Kurukshetra2002KurukshetraHaryana
10NIT Calicut2002KozhikodeKerala
11NIT Rourkela2002RourkelaOdisha
12NIT Silchar2002SilcharAssam
13NIT Karnataka2002SuratkhalKarnataka
14NIT Warangal2002WarangalTelangana
15NIT Surat2002SuratGujarat
16NIT Tiruchirappalli2002TiruchirappalliTamil Nadu
17NIT Srinagar2003SrinagarJammu and Kashmir
18NIT Patna2004PatnaBihar
19NIT Raipur2005RaipurChhattisgarh
20NIT Agartala2006AgartalaTripura
21NIT Arunachal Pradesh2010YupiaArunachal Pradesh
22NIT Delhi2010New DelhiDelhi
23NIT Goa2010FarmagudiGoa
24NIT Manipur2010ImphalManipur
25NIT Meghalaya2010ShillongMeghalaya
26NIT Mizoram2010AizawlMizoram
27NIT Nagaland2010DimapurNagaland
28NIT Puducherry2010KaraikalPuducherry
29NIT Sikkim2010RavanglaSikkim
30NIT Uttarakhand2010Srinagar, UttarakhandUttarakhand
31NIT Andhra Pradesh2015TadepalligudemAndhra Pradesh

Leave a comment